Sciology = Science + Technology

Commonsense in Technology

Getting ready for my short-talk at EclipseCon 2008

Posted by sureshkrishna on January 24, 2008

Happy New Year 2008 to everyone. This is my first blog in 2008. Last year ended with some sadness as i lost my backpack containing laptop, camera and some other important belongings in New York airport. I could not trace it till date and i my hopes have been diminishing. It took a little while for me to get a new laptop, prepare it for the daily routine.

Past 1.5 year i have been concentrating on tweaking, customizing and writing plugins for the Web 2.0 frameworks. I was quite successful in providing a good IDE to the IT developers with a good set of code generation features. Thanks to WTP, EMF, Eclipse DnD and in the end Eclipse Platform. In the meantime, i have also encountered with the basic question of “Can Eclipse UI be similar to other widget frameworks out there in Web 2.0 space ?“. I was haunted with this question all the time and probably in Oct 2007, i was ready for an answer. While its not possible to expect a very similar UI in eclipse as in GWT, Dojo, Rico, Zimbra, Flash, etc… , it’s definitely possible to get some-what-close look as in Web 2.0 kind of applications.

I am sharing all my experiences to make an eclipse application to give a look of Web 2.0 application. I thank SWT, JFace  and Nebula to provide such versatile framework. I hope this short-talk would help many of us to have some dangling ideas about how to achieve a “Web 2.0 style widgets and look”.

I am very excited to see you all at eclipse and share my experiences. I would love to see and chat with my previous colleagues Stephan Eberle, Frank Gerhardt, Elias Volanakis and many others.

2 Responses to “Getting ready for my short-talk at EclipseCon 2008”

  1. Tom Schindl said

    Did you read about our UFacekit-Project (http://code.google.com/p/uface/)?

  2. lofi said

    sorry to hear about your laptop :/

Leave a Reply

 
